• Have something to say? Register Now! and be posting in minutes!

Way OT: My Oscar Rant

Ray_Dogg

Troll Hunter
Hoopla Cash
$ 1,000.00
Fav. Team #1
Fav. Team #2
Fav. Team #3
I had already felt this was the worst year all time for oscar worthy movies. Today just confirmed that for me and I'm also leaning towards the world truly exploding this year. How does Bridesmaids (easily one of the stupidest and not funny in any way) get two Oscar nominations? Damn I feel bad for society.

threelittleturds

anteater
Hoopla Cash
$ 1,000.00
Fav. Team #1
Fav. Team #2
Fav. Team #3
I don't follow that stuff that closely, but it seems like if the studio sends enough "gifts" (which we like to call bribes) to the Academy voters, they tend to nominate that studio's movies.

tallglassofwater007

Large Member
Hoopla Cash
$ 1,000.00
Fav. Team #1
Fav. Team #2
Fav. Team #3
I work in the industry. It is all about promotion. I have screener copies of a ton of movies that they want to be nominated. They just send them all over the place. I can't believe Jonah Hill got nominated. He didn't really do anything in Moneyball worthy of notoriety.

Kinzu

Hoopla Cash
$ 1,000.00
Fav. Team #1
Fav. Team #2
Fav. Team #3
I can't believe the Warrior only got 1 nomination. Nick Nolte for best supporting actor. The movie is better than The Fighter and both brothers gave a great performance. Tom Hardy should have also been nominated for that movie.

Andy Serkis once again got left at the door. This was the year for the Academy to at least nominate an actor for bringing a CGI character to life, but I guess they just can't do that. If you don't know he is the man who played Ceasar in Rise of the Planet of the Apes.

Also shocked that the Adventures of TinTin is not up for best animated picture. How is Kung Fu Panda 2 up for that award over TinTin?

And yeah I like Jonah Hill in Moneyball, but it was not an Oscar performance.

tallglassofwater007

Large Member
Hoopla Cash
$ 1,000.00
Fav. Team #1
Fav. Team #2