• Have something to say? Register Now! and be posting in minutes!

I just bought my first cast iron skillet

night

Undocumented PhD
Hoopla Cash
$ 2,109.09
Fav. Team #1
Fav. Team #2
Fav. Team #3
This is what I bought. I went with the 13.25" because a 12" seemed just barely on the small side for bacon. Does anybody care to share a few tips with me?

I also ordered this, this, this, and these (to store grease) to go along with it. I don't plan on using that many mason jars to store grease but you can never have too many of those things.

Edisto_Tiger

Member Sporting a Natty
Hoopla Cash
$ 200.00
Fav. Team #1
Fav. Team #2
Fav. Team #3
I've never used a conditioner before. Let us know how it works. Was it preseasoned or do you need to rub it with some crisco and season it? I do use the pot scrapers too. They work well. I have some old school crockery for my bacon grease storage.

th?&id=OIP.Mc4de86883b00335d7e957be60f985584o0&w=246&h=184&c=0&pid=1.9&rs=0&p=0.jpg

Cleaning your cast iron skillets

night

Undocumented PhD
Hoopla Cash
$ 2,109.09
Fav. Team #1
Fav. Team #2
Fav. Team #3
I've never used a conditioner before. Let us know how it works. Was it preseasoned or do you need to rub it with some crisco and season it? I do use the pot scrapers too. They work well. I have some old school crockery for my bacon grease storage.

View attachment 99896

Cleaning your cast iron skillets
It does come preseasoned but I think I'm going to season it a few times before I use it for the first time.

outofyourmind

Oklahoma Sooners
Hoopla Cash
$ 1,000.00
Fav. Team #1
Fav. Team #2
Fav. Team #3
It will make the best cornbread you ever made. Crispy crust. MMMMmmmmm.

Outside of that, I just don't use mine for much of anything else.

ckhokie

Supporting Member Level 69
Hoopla Cash
$ 1,000.00
Fav. Team #1
Fav. Team #2
Fav. Team #3