• Have something to say? Register Now! and be posting in minutes!

Romo plan

ROMOTOOWENS

Hoopla Cash
$ 1,000.00
Fav. Team #1
Fav. Team #2
Fav. Team #3
What do you think it is - meaning how much longer do you see him playing. ? He is 34 soon. You guys that know the cap - what is the best case scenario. 2 yrs or 3yrs or longer

Eiknarflin

Hoopla Cash
$ 1,000.00
Fav. Team #1
Fav. Team #2
Fav. Team #3
I'm no cap expert, by any stretch of the imagination, but Romo's time is dependent on his success.

In other words, if the Cowboys begin making the playoffs regularly, he will be kept. Jerry might ask him to consider taking a paycut so they could bring a few more guys to get over the hump (remember, we are talking about hypothetical playoff appearances - I'm not saying we are close to the hump), and he might consider if he thought it would finally get the monkey off his back.

On the other hand, two more 8-8 seasons and he's done, except as a backup on another team.

ArlingtonCowboys100

Goodell is a polesmoker
Hoopla Cash
$ 1,000.00
Fav. Team #1
Fav. Team #2
Fav. Team #3
At his age you have ti wonder if he can make it through a couple more seasogns. He has taken a beating since 2010. Now the OL is improving so maybe he can play longer. Part of the problem is the offense is so pass happy and the opposing defenses know it.

Schmoopy1000

When all else fails, Smack em' in the Mouth!
Hoopla Cash
$ 5,257.19
Fav. Team #1
Fav. Team #2
Fav. Team #3
I will say he will definitely be (again barring major injuries) our starter for the 2014, 2015, & 2016 seasons. if he hasn't eroded I think he could play out the majority of his contract why we start grooming his replacement.

If he has eroded by the end of 16' then I don't know what the cap hit is by then, but think we have to look for a change.

Either way no way we start grooming a replacement this year. The guy will be leaving the team by the time the Cowboys can cut Romo.