• Have something to say? Register Now! and be posting in minutes!

I Brewed Some Beer Today

Hoopla Cash
$ 1,000.00
Fav. Team #1
Fav. Team #2
Fav. Team #3
So you do the brew in a bag method huh? I was always curious about trying it. Also is that a 5 gallon pot and a separate hot water tank for your sparging? not really sure what's going on there...

I don't have the equipment yet for all grain, so I do extract brewing myself using specialty grains and whatever else I add, but It's a full boil in a 9 gallon pot (outside with propane). Unfortunately I'm not good at controlling how much I boil off so end up with funky volumes.

The brew I did today was supposed to finish at 1.065, but I got 1.053... and 6 gallons! Well more beer the better I guess. I just hope it won't taste too watery and overpowering hops.

1.030 is way low for a brew I would think. You might want to pick up some DME, boil for 30 min, and add it to your primary.

I'm not familiar with the term "brew in a bag" but I hold my grains in grain socks if that's what you're asking. And I have two five-gallon pots each extracting one sock of grain. There were 6 pounds in one sock and 5 in the other. I might have to go back to half-mash until I get a place with a better kitchen and a bigger brew pot, but that's a decision I'll make after I find out how this batch turns out.

I also have no idea what the gravity is supposed to be on this beer. The recipe didn't say. Of course, with 11 pounds of malt, I figured it should have been higher than it was. Of course, I made a porter that came out to an initial gravity of 1.030, and it turned out quite delicious, so I'm not giving up on this batch just yet.