• Have something to say? Register Now! and be posting in minutes!

Coaches and their Violations

CatsTopPac

Hoopla Cash
$ 100.00
Fav. Team #1
Fav. Team #2
Fav. Team #3
Look, I'm not trying to take away from the kids and the tourney, and the fact that everyone worked their asses off all year to get here.

I guess going back to Roy at UNC, and Boeheim at SU (not to mention the others); I just don't buy a coach saying that they didn't know, or that they had no way of being able to have complete control of the players.

I just cannot buy that shit for one second.

If I am a head coach (especially if I'm high profile at a top tier CBB program), I would be militant in terms of making sure my players didn't get into some dumb shit, precisely because it would reflect poorly upon me and my program. I would tell them all on day one, "Look, if you go around accepting gifts that are blatantly above and beyond, I will be the first one to throw you under the bus, because in doing so, you show me that you only care about yourself and not the program. We all suffer down the road because you come in here for a couple/few years and leave, while the coaches and future players pay for it."

I would do everything in my power to make sure it didn't happen. I would tell all of the boosters that if they contribute, they're out. If any other coaches, professors, or university staff help, fuck them too. I would know that me saying as a coach that I didn't know is either complete bullshit, or at least 'out of sight, out of mind'. Coaches who just throw their hands up and say, "I can't know everything" are saying to me that they didn't want to know everything.

If a coach is very consistent and aggressive to prevent it happening in the program, then I think that comes out favorably if players still decide to commit violations. But I have to believe that the players would not go behind the coach as often if he hangs the future of the program on their actions.