• Have something to say? Register Now! and be posting in minutes!

Something concerning contact (twitter) with recruits....

Forty_Sixand2

Sleeper Pick
The Nation's Capital (where the news comes from)
Hoopla Cash
$ 1,000.00
Fav. Team #1
Fav. Team #2
Fav. Team #3
A couple people have asked me questions about the rules concerning twitter and contacting recruits. I am not a professional or expert by any means, so please chime in if you know, but I have gathered some info on it.

It is obviously best NOT to have any contact with recruits that you did not know prior to recruitment over twitter. It can and in some cases has been used to go after teams. The powers that be at the NCAA can make it into an "official contact" in the event that you contribute money in any way to the school....

So, to answer the questions....better to be safe and just don't do it, I guess. Twitter is public and one or two tweets started all of this shit with UNC so...yeah.....

Hope this helps!

HokieGhost

Hoopla Cash
$ 1,000.00
Fav. Team #1
Agree 100%.

If anyone donates money to Tech, or buys tickets to the games, they are considered to be a booster. Even those Tech fans with a subscription to Beamerball, Coach Beamer's official website, are technically considered to be boosters. Boosters are not allowed to contact recruits in any way shape or form, especially those recruits who have offers from Tech.

Now, having said that, it's okay to follow recruits, players, or coaches on Twitter or Facebook...it's a very good way to get information on what's going on. But, just don't contact the recruits in any way.

amszete

STRIKE FIRST|STRIKE HARD.
Hoopla Cash
$ 1,000.00
Fav. Team #1
Fav. Team #2
Fav. Team #3
Totally agree with you guys on this. I highly recommend this being a sticky. This board is growing so much, people new to the board may eventually miss this vital information.

Hokie200proof

Hoopla Cash
$ 1,000.00
Fav. Team #1
Fav. Team #2
Fav. Team #3