• Have something to say? Register Now! and be posting in minutes!

What do you think is different?

Sportster 72

Hoopla Cash
$ 1,000.00
Fav. Team #1
Fav. Team #2
Fav. Team #3
I am not a personnel expert. I applaud all of you who spend countless hours reading websites etc. to learn about the players available in the draft. I think back to when I was a kid and college football had minimal coverage and draft coverage was the list of 15-20 draftees the day after the draft in the newspaper. We had no clue what we had and waited until the next year to find out.

I believe I heard today that during the most successful period in Redskin history the team only had 3 number 1 picks: Monk, Green May.

Anyhow here is my question. The Shanahans are gone and Gruden is here, the rest of the people making decisions are largely the same Allen, Haslett and McVay. Don't forget a good part of scouting/personnel department has been there before the Shanahan/Allen regime. What if anything do you think is different?

j_y19

ESPN Cast Off
Hoopla Cash
$ 1,000.00
Fav. Team #1
Fav. Team #2
Fav. Team #3
I'll take a shot. It appears that Gruden will allow players more freedom to play. Shanahan was a true system guy. The success of which depended on everyone doing their part as scripted, no freelancing. Gruden, it seems, believes that you have to be flexible and let players use their instincts on the field to make plays. I come to this conclusion not only by listening to Gruden talk, but by the mental make up of some of his drafted players. The are maulers and brawlers. They have a nasty streak. They are aggressive. Shanahan, while of course he wanted his players aggressive, it was more controlled aggression. I think with Gruden we will see some players turned loose at times, specifically on defense.

The other difference I see is just the size of the OL that he is going after. I think we are going to see our running game go back to more of a power running scheme. Smash mouth football.