• Have something to say? Register Now! and be posting in minutes!

Is this a non story?

Uhsplit

Hoopla Cash
$ 805.92
Fav. Team #1
Fav. Team #2
Fav. Team #3
"You go to a game and you see a team honoring 'Hometown Heroes,' and you think it's some sort of public service announcement, that the team is doing it out of the goodness of their heart," Senator Jeff Flake, R-Ariz., said to ESPN on Monday. "Then you find out it's paid for? That seems a little unseemly."

Senator Jeff Flake criticizes National Guard sponsorship deal with NFL teams

I am a Navy veteran and a 28 year STH of the Seahawks. It seems to me at every home game during a commercial break, there is a moment set aside when a family who has a service member overseas is parked in the North endzone and their family member is brought up on the Jumbotron in real time. The Jumbotron screen is split showing the family on one half and their overseas loved on the other half. To see the family's faces light up with pride when it happens is a special moment. The service person then identifies himself/herself, which department or brigade or squadron ect they are attached to, and then give a quick shout out to their family and a Go Seahawks at the end. Lots of waves and blown kisses by the family and service person in that quick 15 second or so time span. A couple of times a year the PA announcer asks all present and former military personnel to stand and be acknowledged. We get a real nice ovation and lots of thanks from those in attendance. It is another prideful moment.

So I read the above referenced article. As I was reading it, I became hopeful that the team I root for was not part of a marketing ploy, getting paid for a patriotic gesture. If that was the case, I would not be in agreement with these events that I have appreciated previously. I was very happy to see that the Seahawks were not one of the teams getting paid for this.