• Have something to say? Register Now! and be posting in minutes!

wOBA

Chef99

It's raw, you donkey!
Hoopla Cash
$ 1,000.00
Fav. Team #1
Fav. Team #2
Fav. Team #3
Holy shit, doesn't anyone just try to pick the best player anymore? :wtf2:

Microwahevo

Green St. Elite
Hoopla Pickems Staff
Hoopla Cash
$ 4,481.00
Fav. Team #1
Fav. Team #2
Fav. Team #3
This whole sabermetrics stuff just blows my mind. One of my best friends loves discussign this shit, and I usually am singing a song in my head(or thinking of boobies and ass) as he talks. I look at their stats, both career and current season, when determining opinions on a player.

I get that sabermetrics can be useful, but some of it is just beyond my scope of caring.

Driaz

People are crazy
Hoopla Cash
$ 1,000.00
Fav. Team #1
Fav. Team #2
Fav. Team #3
Holy shit, doesn't anyone just try to pick the best player anymore? :wtf2:

LOL.....more context is needed.....this has potential to be a good story!

I'm still learning wOBA and some of the other new "advanced" metrics.....I'm generally more skeptical of the newer metrics that aren't transparent in how they are calculated.....

I'm going to create a wDRIAZ stat and most D-Backs excel in this stat!!! :yahoo:

Chef99

It's raw, you donkey!
Hoopla Cash
$ 1,000.00
Fav. Team #1
Fav. Team #2
Fav. Team #3
Here's the deal. I ran across a post where some guy said Freddie Freeman sucks because he has a low wOBA. Are you fucking kidding me? He's 23 years old, his potential is through the roof, and he sucks because his wOBA is low? I'm fairly certain the Freddie doesn't even know what wOBA is. I agree with Microwahevo that some of it is useful and kinda cool, but I just can't stand when people analyze things to death and strangle all the fun out of it.

That said, I think creating a wDRIAZ stat is an awesome idea. I thought about creating a wCHEF stat, but then I realized i'd have to use the Mets as my template. :lol:

Microwahevo

Green St. Elite
Hoopla Pickems Staff
Hoopla Cash