• Have something to say? Register Now! and be posting in minutes!

elephant in the room

idseer

Hoopla Cash
$ 1,000.00
Fav. Team #1
Fav. Team #2
Fav. Team #3
so how is covid 19 affecting you.

for me ... i'm retired and my wife will be retired in a month. we're in between houses right now waiting for ours in va. to be completed. temporarily living in md. near our daughter's and staying inside (she insists we don't leave the house so we almost never do. fortunately my wife is able to work from home via computer so neither of us is affected financially. also fortunately construction is still allowed in va. so keeping our fingers crossed that that doesn't change and our end of may completion doesn't change. the worst effect this has on me personally is, i'm a musician and i do a lot of open mics and small gigs. obviously all that is gone for now so i practice a lot here. so mainly, i'm bored to tears. not complaining cause i know my situation is a dream compared to so many people right now.
i AM curious to know how you all are making out! maybe it'll feel good to share a little?

richig07

Hoopla Cash
$ 200.00
Fav. Team #1
Fav. Team #2
Fav. Team #3
Yeah, it's pretty rough times for most everyone. Like yourself, my biggest complaint is being bored to tears. I haven't worked since mid-late March.

This all happened at an awkward time since the lease on my house in the Detroit area was up at the end of April and I was planning on staying there. Then, all of this happened and my work stopped. Not knowing how long this would last for. I made the decision to pack up and head for my sister's house in Columbia, SC before the worst hit. She's a single doctor and owns a 3 bedroom home. Plenty of space. I have a few things in a small storage unit nearby and I'm going to wait it out here. My mom relocated to the area after retiring recently as well. They've jokingly pressured me to move down here ever since.