• Have something to say? Register Now! and be posting in minutes!

2021 salary cap and how it will impact free agency

averagejoe

You fell victim to one of the classic blunders.
Hoopla Cash
$ 1,500.00
Fav. Team #1
Fav. Team #2
Fav. Team #3
Here is a link which shows all 32 teams and their 2021 salary cap. NFL 2021 Salary Cap Tracker

14 teams are already over their cap including the Saints, Packers, Rams, Steelers, Chiefs and Texans.
There has been a lot of chatter about teams making a run for Deshaun Watson. Stafford is now an option. Seems like Aaron Rodgers is angling for a discount double check (an opportunity on another team).
Locally, the sports talking heads wonder if the Bears will lose Allen Robinson.

Another 8 NFL teams have less than $15 mill in cap space including the Cards, Cowboys, Seahawks, Niners, and Browns.

I'm no expert on salaries and salary caps.
Looking at the players about to hit free agency, there is Dak and Deshaun. But many other players may not be considered "impact" players.
Yet even these non-impact players are making $7, 8 and 9 million.
I'm sure there are plenty of role players making descent money that teams may be forced to look at.

This tells me that 2021 has the potential to be a cap-casualty bloodbath.

leftypower

THE NFL HAS GONE TO HELL
Hoopla Cash
$ 1,000.00
Fav. Team #1
Fav. Team #2
Fav. Team #3
Joe, it could certainly be as you say, but there are inventive ways for them to get there (roster bonus, incentives, etc). I'm not saying there won't be guys looking for big deals that won't be disappointed since there certainly will - just saying the teams do have cap wizards. But what will players settle for is the big issue. Most all are looking for long-term deals and may have to settle for significantly less in order to manage the cap for the 'contenders' - who are the primary teams with major cap issues.