• Have something to say? Register Now! and be posting in minutes!

Recharging AC Coolant

Davis_Mike

You can never have too many knives.
Hoopla Cash
$ 200.00
Fav. Team #1
Fav. Team #2
Fav. Team #3
So my mom calls me today to tell me her car AC is just blowing hot air. Today is my Friday off day, so I tell her I'll pick up a can to recharge the coolant in the parking lot of her work while she is working.

Keep in mind, I am no mechanic & have never done this before. But I usually have little to no problem dealing with most auto maintenance issues or replacing parts.

So, I pull up her car info to make sure I get the right coolant. I then look up a few videos to make sure I can do this. It looks simple enough. I stop off & buy a full can of AC Pro with the hose attached.

Fast forward to me in a parking lot in 110 heat.

I turn her car on, AC on high & get to work. Yep, compressor not kicking on. I adjust the pressure zone nozzle that covers the gauge to make sure I have it in the right ambien temp zone. Fuck, 110 degrees basically puts me in the red. I need to be careful to put enough in, but not too much as to create a more expensive problem. I attach the hose & take a look at the pressure gauge, it's fluctuating all over the place.

Dafuck?! Is the gauge broke? According to the videos I watched, this isn't what is supposed to happen. So I get back in my truck & watch a few more videos. Emboldened with my new found courage, I proceed to start recharging the coolant. A third of the can in, I can finally hear the compressor start clicking on an off. I look at the gauge & it's still fluctuating. Hmm, am I doing this right? Lets do a more specific video search.