1. Have something to say? Register Now! and be posting in minutes!

One of the Worst Rules in All of Sports

Discussion in 'NFL Football Forum' started by Darrell Green Fan, Oct 12, 2017.

  1. Hank Kingsley

    Hank Kingsley Crusty Curmudgeon

    8,090
    1,023
    173
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Location:
    Port Alberni, B.C.
    Hoopla Bookie:
    $ 1,000


    Just sayin'.....
     



    • Like Like x 1
  2. dkmightyhammer

    dkmightyhammer Livin' la vida loca

    7,387
    2,093
    173
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Hoopla Bookie:
    $ 1,000


    I get that. But then why isn't it a TD when a player gets pushed out of bounds in the endzone in the same manner?
     
  3. Hank Kingsley

    Hank Kingsley Crusty Curmudgeon

    8,090
    1,023
    173
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Location:
    Port Alberni, B.C.
    Hoopla Bookie:
    $ 1,000


    Because OB prevails? Just like on a sideline?
     
  4. Darrell Green Fan

    Darrell Green Fan Well-Known Member

    8,433
    1,004
    173
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Location:
    Mount Airy MD
    Hoopla Bookie:
    $ 1,000


    Because the player is out of bounds, just like he would be if pushed out at the 30. Not the case on this play.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. dkmightyhammer

    dkmightyhammer Livin' la vida loca

    7,387
    2,093
    173
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Hoopla Bookie:
    $ 1,000


    That must be it. It just seems counter to when a catch becomes a catch to me.
     
  6. Hank Kingsley

    Hank Kingsley Crusty Curmudgeon

    8,090
    1,023
    173
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Location:
    Port Alberni, B.C.
    Hoopla Bookie:
    $ 1,000


    Ask anybody, rules on catches are CLEAR CUT, no AMBIGUITIES.....

    Or not....
     
    • Funny Funny x 1
  7. Vitamike

    Vitamike #H9Csuck! Hoopla Pickems Staff

    12,752
    2,336
    173
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Hoopla Bookie:
    $ 18,850


    Two feet down in the endzone is not required for forward progress in a TD scenario. As long as the standard of breaking the plane of the goal with possession was met it's a TD provided the player maintains control and comes down in bounds in the field of play.

    They use this same forward progress standard for first downs in both running and passing plays.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  8. JMR

    JMR Go Army!

    3,545
    765
    113
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2014
    Hoopla Bookie:
    $ 1,000


    If you're talking about the Gurley play from last week, it's because he lost control of the ball (i.e. fumbled it) before it crossed the plane of the goal line *and* before his foot landed OB. The replay clearly showed that, and the correct call was made by rule on that play.
     
  9. Vitamike

    Vitamike #H9Csuck! Hoopla Pickems Staff

    12,752
    2,336
    173
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Hoopla Bookie:
    $ 18,850


    No one has any thoughts on this?

    TBT - I don't think most NFL coaches understand exactly what can and what cannot be looked at.
     
  10. redseat

    redseat Well-Known Member

    28,908
    2,243
    173
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Hoopla Bookie:
    $ 1,033


    No, I was just saying in general as I was reading OPs initial post.. Probably reading it incorrectly
     
  11. Hank Kingsley

    Hank Kingsley Crusty Curmudgeon

    8,090
    1,023
    173
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Location:
    Port Alberni, B.C.
    Hoopla Bookie:
    $ 1,000


    Knock me over with a feather....

    I'm pretty sure I've seen them notice something on a replay and act on it even if it wasn't the point challenged, although not on a fumble/recovery.

    It may have been line of gain changed? When deciding on a catch being ruled good?
     
  12. dkmightyhammer

    dkmightyhammer Livin' la vida loca

    7,387
    2,093
    173
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Hoopla Bookie:
    $ 1,000


    In this case they were reviewing a TD so obviously controlling the ball past the goal line is a part of that review.
     
  13. Vitamike

    Vitamike #H9Csuck! Hoopla Pickems Staff

    12,752
    2,336
    173
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Hoopla Bookie:
    $ 18,850


    I just wonder if they rule it a touchback if the refs had ruled Gurley short of the goal instead of a Touchdown on a Rams challenge?
     
  14. packerzrule

    packerzrule Pay no attention to the man behind the curtain Supporting Member Level 1

    26,289
    10,387
    1,033
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Location:
    Oak Creek WI
    Hoopla Bookie:
    $ 1,566



    okay, so let's say we have the same scenario but instead, the runner is tackled and the ball comes out when his elbow hits the ground - he is then ruled down by contact and the ball is no longer live

    what the hell sense does that make?
     
  15. packerzrule

    packerzrule Pay no attention to the man behind the curtain Supporting Member Level 1

    26,289
    10,387
    1,033
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Location:
    Oak Creek WI
    Hoopla Bookie:
    $ 1,566



    read my next post
     
  16. JMR

    JMR Go Army!

    3,545
    765
    113
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2014
    Hoopla Bookie:
    $ 1,000


    Uh, because the play is over the moment he's tackled! Do you really want things to count after the play is over?
     
  17. packerzrule

    packerzrule Pay no attention to the man behind the curtain Supporting Member Level 1

    26,289
    10,387
    1,033
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Location:
    Oak Creek WI
    Hoopla Bookie:
    $ 1,566



    no, both players are going down to the ground, his elbow hits the turf with the ball coming out, the play is over

    if he isn't tackled, his elbow hits the turf and the ball comes out, it is a fumble


    what's the difference?
     
  18. JMR

    JMR Go Army!

    3,545
    765
    113
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2014
    Hoopla Bookie:
    $ 1,000


    The difference is down by contact or not. Once down by contact, the play is over. Period. I'm not really sure what you're so confused about. If a defender hits a ball carrier and that contact is the impetus for the ball carrier going to the ground, the play is over the very moment something other than the ball carrier's hand or foot touches the ground. Nothing after that matters.

    Your original statement was that the ground cannot cause a fumble, and that is incorrect because it absolutely can. You can not like it, but that's a different discussion.
     
  19. DirtDirtDirt

    DirtDirtDirt Well-Known Member

    19,797
    2,196
    173
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Hoopla Bookie:
    $ 1,000


    "The TUCK RULE"

    - Jon Gruden
     
  20. packerzrule

    packerzrule Pay no attention to the man behind the curtain Supporting Member Level 1

    26,289
    10,387
    1,033
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Location:
    Oak Creek WI
    Hoopla Bookie:
    $ 1,566



    I guess the "down by contact" thing is what I hate

    back in the day, whether you fall to the turn on your own, or you have 3 guys hanging on you, if the ball came out when you hit the turf, that was a fumble