1. Have something to say? Register Now! and be posting in minutes!

Did anyone know this was a rule??

Discussion in 'College Football Forum' started by Mistaken4193, Jan 10, 2018.

  1. Codaxx

    Codaxx Well-Known Member

    11,324
    1,064
    173
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Hoopla Bookie:
    $ 1,000


    As a Texas fan, I can appreciate jokes about bad offense
     



  2. NolePride

    NolePride Well-Known Member

    2,213
    464
    83
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2017
    Location:
    Clermont, Florida
    Hoopla Bookie:
    $ 1,000


    The way the rule reads...I don't believe that would be correct.

    If he landed on a player who was out of bounds, and he never touched the ground himself
    he wouldn't be considered out-of-bounds. Not until a portion of his body touched.

    A player is not a part of the ground. He is a player.
     
    • Winner Winner x 1
  3. BamaDude

    BamaDude Active Member

    903
    163
    43
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2016
    Hoopla Bookie:
    $ 1,000


    ^
    FIFY
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Codaxx

    Codaxx Well-Known Member

    11,324
    1,064
    173
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Hoopla Bookie:
    $ 1,000


    I believe you are correct. I just read it and it specifically makes an exception for touching defenders or officials out of bounds. I have no idea what Gundy was talking about
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. BamaDude

    BamaDude Active Member

    903
    163
    43
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2016
    Hoopla Bookie:
    $ 1,000


    I believe the intended interpretation of this rule is: if a player merely brushes against another player or official who is out of bounds (i.e. - a player's upper body, arm, or the side of his foot makes contact with an out-of-bounds person) then the player in motion is still inbounds; but if the player steps on an out-of-bounds person it would be the same as making contact with the ground out of bounds.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. NolePride

    NolePride Well-Known Member

    2,213
    464
    83
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2017
    Location:
    Clermont, Florida
    Hoopla Bookie:
    $ 1,000


    You may be correct. I don't 100% know. However I do know the definition of a player and I know if
    I land on a player in the field of play and no part of my body (except feet) are touching the ground I
    am not considered down.

    Now it would be almost impossible for a player to upright himself without his feet touching out-of-bounds,
    but if he could then the rule would be he was never out-of-bounds.

    They don't change definitions, they add rules to cover all situations.

    If a punt landed inbounds and then bounced in mid-air off the field of play but had not
    yet touched out-of-bounds, and I was on the kicking team I could jump from the field
    of play and before I landed could swat the ball 15 yards deeper back onto the field of
    play. They don't change my definition they simply refer to a different rule...the different
    rule in that instance would be "First Touching." The receiving team would be given the option
    of taking over the ball where it was downed by the officials 15 yards further downfield or taking it at the
    spot I first touched it. (That's the one they would opt for).
     
  7. Scapegoat

    Scapegoat The iron never lies

    3,574
    562
    113
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2013
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Hoopla Bookie:
    $ 500


    Is this the Woody Hayes rule?
    upload_2018-1-10_10-51-25.jpeg
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. 4down20

    4down20 Quit checking me out.

    51,040
    7,189
    533
    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Hoopla Bookie:
    $ 945


    I've read all this and come to the conclusion that you can "touch" a player out of bounds all you want, but you can't land on them. If you land on them while they are out of bounds, then you are out of bounds.

    I don't see where the Georgia player landed on him at all.
     
    • Facepalm Facepalm x 1
  9. Codaxx

    Codaxx Well-Known Member

    11,324
    1,064
    173
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Hoopla Bookie:
    $ 1,000


    That is what I thought but a read the rule

    Player Out of Bounds
    ARTICLE 1. a. A player is out of bounds when any part of his person touches
    anything, other than another player or game official, on or outside a boundary
    line (Rule 2-27-15) (A.R. 4-2-1-I and II).
    b. An out-of-bounds player who becomes airborne remains out of bounds
    until he touches the ground in bounds without simultaneously being out
    of bounds.
    c. A player who touches a pylon is out of bounds.
     
    • Facepalm Facepalm x 1
  10. dann bunn

    dann bunn Member

    69
    10
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Hoopla Bookie:
    $ 1,000


    WHAT???????????????? A player is OOB if he touches a pylon? That can't be right. How many times have you seen a TD scored with the ball touching the pylon.
     
  11. 7Samurai13

    7Samurai13 Funniest SH member

    18,954
    3,236
    293
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Hoopla Bookie:
    $ 999


    If you jump in the air, catch the ball, kick the pylon; you are out of bounds. The pylon is part of the lines.
     
  12. Codaxx

    Codaxx Well-Known Member

    11,324
    1,064
    173
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Hoopla Bookie:
    $ 1,000


    That was from the NCAA site. Interesting to give that a Face Palm rating.
     
  13. 4down20

    4down20 Quit checking me out.

    51,040
    7,189
    533
    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Hoopla Bookie:
    $ 945


    The pylon is also the goal-line, so if you touch the ball to the pylon it is crossing the plane of the goalline as well.

    It's different than your feet doing it however.
     
  14. cwerph

    cwerph Go Bucks!

    7,314
    1,481
    173
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Location:
    Reynoldsburg, Ohio
    Hoopla Bookie:
    $ 1,000


    In order to touch the pylon, you have to break the plane of the goal line. If you reach out with the ball and touch the pylon, you have broken the plane, which is why it is a touchdown.
     
  15. Tin Man

    Tin Man Loquacious Constituent

    18,418
    6,466
    533
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Location:
    Southern Piedmont
    Hoopla Bookie:
    $ 1,025


    Bammervision.
     
  16. dann bunn

    dann bunn Member

    69
    10
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Hoopla Bookie:
    $ 1,000


    Well, that is still not clear to me. If you are OOB you can't score a TD. Or do you score before to are OOB? I understand what the vertical plane of the goal line is, but someone said the pylon is a sideline and a goal line. How can it be both?Is it divided in 4 quarters? There is no way a ref, or a camera can see which quarter of the pylon the ball touches first. I not trying to be as ass, it just doesn't seem clear, and needs to be understood better. I'm not referring to anything that happened in the GA AL. game. I'm just asking about the statement that if a player touches a pylon, he is OOB. I don't see how it can be both.
     
  17. cwerph

    cwerph Go Bucks!

    7,314
    1,481
    173
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Location:
    Reynoldsburg, Ohio
    Hoopla Bookie:
    $ 1,000


    I don't know how to explain it any better. it is impossible to touch the pylon without breaking the plane.
     
    • Funny Funny x 1
  18. 4down20

    4down20 Quit checking me out.

    51,040
    7,189
    533
    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Hoopla Bookie:
    $ 945


    It's the point of intersection.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  19. Rolltide94

    Rolltide94 Well-Known Member

    5,261
    801
    113
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Hoopla Bookie:
    $ 319


    Not unless it's touch...which might be the case in 50 years the way we are headed.
     
  20. Rolltide94

    Rolltide94 Well-Known Member

    5,261
    801
    113
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Hoopla Bookie:
    $ 319


    True...but your team doesn't have 3 top 10 recruiting classes in the last 5 years.
     
    • Like Like x 1